Coach Nielsen's Ice Hockey Drills

Most Popular Drills on the Site (selected by the coaches)

With the beginning of a new calendar year I wanted to share some of the interesting information I have accumulated in the four months since I started this website. Back on September 2nd I finally put this simple site live with the hope that I could reach a few coaches around the country and help them with the chore of “what to do at practice tonight”. During the first month of existence I received 515 hits and thought that was awesome. As of January 11th, 2010, I have had 3,886 hits in the first eleven days of January. The chart below shows how you have helped this site grow from its very meager beginnings to a pretty successful website in just four months. I thank each and every coach that stops by to pick up some small amount of information every day.

When I started the site I wasn’t sure what type of information coaches would be looking for, but through the statistics kept by the web hosting company I can tell you exactly what the most viewed information is.

The most popular drills are the Cycling drills followed by

Cornerstone (Defensemen Section)
Breakout Options (Breakout Section)
3 Pass Drill (Breakout Section)

The most popular sections follow true to form from the above drills


The drills supplied by the coach of the Army Black Knights are charging up the leader board, and they have only been on the site for about three weeks.

I have received over 200 emails from coaches all over the US and Canada asking for my opinion/advice on many subjects and it has been a trill corresponding with each one of you. I have learned many things myself through those new contacts. Remember, there is always something new to learn in this great game.

Once again, thank you for turning my “little project” into something much more substantial than I ever thought it would be. I started this site with the opinion that I would share my information for free and I continue to adhere to that principle. If you have something to contribute, please feel free to send it along to me, we can all learn from each other.

Coach Nielsen

Filed under: General

One Response

  1. Dave says:

    Hi Coach, thanks for a great site. I am happy to hear that your website has turned into a great resource for coaches all over.

Leave a Reply

